Baby Steps

***

Recouping from spinal surgery is a slow boat. Three months now and I am doing ok. Not as fast as I would like but…..The body lets me know with a vengeance when too much has been done which is more often than I care to admit. Hiking over terrain that demands any big steps up or down is not in the picture but at least I am happy to report I am walking regularly over rolling terrain.

Giving into restlessness and a certain amount of indiscrimination, I went car camping yesterday. Me and my tush cushion drove down to the June Lake Loop between Lee Vining, Ca and Mammoth. It is a heavily used spot and a popular fishing destination. This year’s  REI dividend purchased an ultra comfortable camping cot which made it possible to enjoy a night out under the stars. Once I got past the challenge of pitching a tent all I wanted to do was to sit around and enjoy the day’s progression.

Not a lot of jaw dropping photos ( especially with my funky telephoto lens) but it was fun to break the camera out and watch the light fade and the shadows stake their claim to the evening’s landscape.

Just off of Hiway 395 is the June Lakes Loop which takes you past several lakes and National Forest Camprgrounds.

Just off of Hiway 395 is the June Lakes Loop which takes you past several lakes and National Forest Camprgrounds.

***

The bright green of new aspen leaves contrast the branches who leaves have yet to appear.

The bright green of new aspen leaves contrast the branches who leaves have yet to appear.

***

A bear box in the Silver Lake Campground offers sage advice. All food and any items with an attractive smell get put in a bear proof box during the night. It is good peace of mind and the bears soon realize there are no free lunches with the two leggeds anymore.

A bear box in the Silver Lake Campground offers sage advice. All food and any items with an attractive smell get put in a bear proof box during the night. It is good peace of mind and the bears soon realize there are no free lunches with the two leggeds anymore.

***

This ground squirrel however did his best bear imitation to scare me away from my dinner. It did not work. He get the Grizzly Squirrel Award for effort.

This ground squirrel however did his best bear imitation to scare me away from my dinner. It did not work.  For his effort  he received the Grizzly Squirrel Acting Award.

***

Silver Lake.

Silver Lake.

***

The moon arrives early in the evening.

The moon makes an early evening arrival.

***

Leave a Reply

