Cleaning Up the New Year

Happy New Year Everyone and All!

Even though the new year is less than 24 hours old it needed sprucing up today. On the tail end of a wicked cold, I opted to not go snowshoeing although it was a beautiful, clear (but really cold) winter’s day.

But having too much energy to just sit around, I tackled cleaning the interior of the trusty Wubaru then proceeded to give my car camping tent a much needed sponge bath.

It’s a 20 year old plus North Face VE 24, a bombproof 4-season tent I used on early spring skiing/camping adventures. Those days are long in the rear view mirror but the tent serves on with honor.  Jeez, it was a $700 tent back then and I got it  at the North Face Outlet in Berkley for $500, cause no one else wanted such a  “bright” color scheme.  The fly color is a nice outdoor grey brown so you can still melt into the earth if need be. At 9.1 pounds though, it’s best to  let the car do the heavy lifting.  Nowadays I use a Big Agnes Seedhouse SL2 for packing.  A 3 season tent, weighing  3lb 2 oz. it is a luxurious one person shelter or a very cozy 2 person.

Winter is okay but I can’t wait for the packing season.  Not being able to  help myself, I’m sorting through the equipment, making a “wish list”, seeing what can be improved upon or what weight can be shed. Soon enough.  Don’t think I’ll ever get rid of the yellow guy, though.

****

The tent isn't that large, my place is that small!

The tent isn’t that large, but neither is my place!

****

The old friend in action.

The old friend in action.

****

A little inspiration for the upcoming season. This is from the last packing trip in September.  Fremont Lake, Hoover Wilderness.

A little inspiration for the upcoming season. This is from the last packing trip in September. Fremont Lake, Hoover Wilderness.

 

 

****

Early morning, Fremont Lake.

Early morning, Fremont Lake.

10 thoughts on “Cleaning Up the New Year

Leave a Reply

