Ain’t No More Cane on the Brazos

"It All Started Here" - finished!

“Ain’t no more cane on the Brazos

Ooh, ooh, ooh.

It’s all been ground  down for molasses.

Ooh, ooh, ooh.”

– The Band

I can just hear Levon Helm belting out “Ain’t No More Cane on the Brazos” by Huddie ‘Leadbelly’ Leadbetter. It was about the prison gang labor in the cane fields along the Brazos river in Texas around 1910. Great song and just the kind of slice of America gone by that the Band loved to sing about. I tried to contact Levon Helm and Robbie Robertson to see if they wanted to write a song commemorating the finish of my Cane Mill painting in Poipu but for some reason they never responded. Artists can really be prima donnas, eh?

But I am happy it’s done, even if it is a capella.  My blood sugar content was getting skewed by too much cane time, so  am I  excited to move on.  It’s a good addition to my slowly growing body of work and will hopefully  adorn an appreciative collector’s wall soon.

Like the ” Wackkamole”  arcade game, ideas for new paintings are popping up as soon as one gets retired. I think I will do a three-piece series of non-human scenarios. All very Kauai of course. Not too large, not too small. No dogs, no cats, no birds.  Instead,  a lizard, a toad and a dragonfly in their own respective settings. The “Odalisque Series” They will be an odd but somehow appropriate part of my artistic march to forward.

So without further ado I am outta here and down the hill to pick up some needed supplies for the next chapter of color, composition and balance. A good Thursday evening to everyone and to all a good night.

Thanks for taking some LIP from me,

Bruce

Leave a Reply

